ADGM (Abu Dhabi): tokenization regime, cost and constraints
Digital securities and fund interests as regulated securities. Fits when: gulf capital with english-law-style infrastructure and a securities/fund structure. The constraint to plan around: adgm, difc, vara and federal sca are separate perimeters — 'uae' is not one regime.
Last verified 22 July 2026
ADGM is the most legible of the three UAE perimeters for anyone building a securities or fund structure, because the FSRA treats tokenised securities and fund units as what they are: regulated securities and fund interests, under English-law-style rules. If your instrument would be a security anywhere else, ADGM does not pretend otherwise, which makes the analysis portable.
The error to avoid is treating this as "a UAE licence". ADGM, DIFC and VARA are separate regulators with separate rulebooks, and FSRA guidance does not bind a DIFC entity or a VARA licensee. Distribution into other markets remains its own question — an ADGM permission tells you what you may do in ADGM, not who you may sell to elsewhere.
At a glance
| Legal perimeter | UAE financial free zone |
|---|---|
| Regulator | FSRA |
| Governing law | FSRA guidance on regulation of digital securities activities |
| What is licensed | Digital securities and fund interests as regulated securities |
| Fits when | Gulf capital with English-law-style infrastructure and a securities/fund structure |
| Binding constraint | ADGM, DIFC, VARA and federal SCA are separate perimeters — 'UAE' is not one regime |
| Indicative timeline | 3–6 months for an FSRA financial-services permission |
| Last verified | 2026-07-22 |
Who this regime is for
Gulf capital wanting an English-law-style securities or fund structure.
Published cost evidence
3 published figures in our dataset are attributed to this jurisdiction. Each carries its own source, currency, cadence and date. Most public pricing in this market comes from providers selling the service they are pricing — the "Sells this?" column says which. Nothing here is averaged.
| Provider | Component | Range | Cadence | Source date | Sells this? | As published | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Stobox | spv govt fee | $110–$4,000 | one_time | 2026-07-10 | yes | Delaware LLC ~$110; ADGM ~$1,900; BVI ~$2.5-3K; Cayman ~$4K | view |
| Cryptoverse Lawyers | spv legal setup | $5,000–$15,000 | one_time | not stated | yes | SPV formation cost USD 5,000-15,000 | view |
| Cryptoverse Lawyers | legal structuring | $25,000–$75,000 | one_time | not stated | yes | Legal structuring cost USD 25,000-75,000 | view |
Read these as evidence of what is claimed, not as a quote. See the full cost index for how components are normalised and where sources contradict each other, and how to use these numbers before you ask anyone for a price.
What changed recently
FSRA treats tokenised securities and fund units as regulated securities under its digital-securities guidance.
Before you rely on this
This page is reference material, not legal advice, and a regime that changed after 22 July 2026 may no longer match what is above. Verify against the regulator's own material and check any claimed licence against the official register — in a market moving this fast, a claimed regulatory status is not a confirmed one.
Compare and decide
- See this regime beside the other 9 in the comparison matrix.
- Choosing between Gulf and Asian distribution? Read Gulf vs Asia fund distribution.
- Want this narrowed to your asset, investors and budget? Request a shortlist — options with constraints, not a recommendation.